Falling in love with yourself

” enjoy your body.use it every way you can. Don’t be afraid of it or what other people think of it.its the greatest instrument you’ll ever own”
We live in a world where we are judged by our appearances and the society is so harsh, it drives people into doing the craziest things so they can look perfect- crazy diet plans, obscene surgeries, borrowing money from friends and family to buy stuff we don’t even need. But we forget to realize one thing, you are as perfect as you see yourself.
Most of us can’t find one thing to appreciate about ourselves,why is that? Is it because we didn’t grow up in homes where compliments are freely given, or the media is creating an image too hard to live up to? I think, we as humans don’t appreciate our worth or understand our values. I feel very sad when I see a five year old girl trying to starve herself because her friends in school call her “fatty bum bum”.
I have always been slim, and I wear glasses, so I got used to being called names like, “Tinie”,”Sticko”,”Leepa”, there are so many, but it never made me feel bad because when I got home and told my mum, she always said,” you are the most beautiful girl in the world and they all want to be like you”, and she said that to me every time,it stuck. I was in primary four when one of the boys in class called my best friend “fat”, she started crying,I got so upset and planned with the other girls to beat him up after school, and boy did we show him!
Falling in love with myself was easy for me because my mother loves herself and she passed that on to my sister and I, but maintaining a relationship with oneself is the hard part. How do I do it? How do I want you to do it? I want you to realize that the God who made the birds, the trees,winter,spring, also made you. That should give you an idea of how special and beautiful you are. Those things you might hate in/on your body are being admired by someone from a distance.
I hope these two exercises help you the way they help me:
-when you look in the mirror,say something nice to yourself,find three things about your body that you like.
-see if you can go a day without making a negative comment about your body to yourself or to another.
Ask yourself this question: when do you feel most beautiful? The answer to this should be exploited until you regain your self confidence.

You need to listen to your body, because your body is listening to you….xoxo

