Dad

A beautiful piece from one of my favourite writers,Enjoy…x

K'anyinene

When I was little, I used to think that Alvan Ikoku, the man on the Ten Naira note, was my daddy. Because like my precious dad, he wore those big glasses that were very much in style in the 80s. I also made that conjecture because even though I did not understand what a Civil Engineer was, or what his work responsibilities were, I knew that he was very important. Why else would he have had to leave the country so often for work?

I always missed him while he was gone. He always brought back the cutest dresses and shoes, which were almost always too big for my tiny frame. He also brought me coins from every corner of the world he visited, so that even after he was long gone from this world, I always had the weight of my little coin collection to comfort me.

I haveโ€ฆ

View original post 156 more words

