My New Found Love…

20140407-172656.jpg

I have had this blog for over a year now and I think it is known that I’m a shameless and unapologetic foodie. I’m not a glutton(no,no,no) I am a sincere lover of food.

Blessed with a stomach that can tolerate any type of cuisine, I always let myself go when tasting food from other cultures. The fact that I love food so much, I feel I should blog about it, you know, immortalise it,if you will.

My favourite meal of the moment is Chow Mein! So I did some research(hehehe!) and this is what I found from http://www.wikipedia.com :
Chow mein (/ˈtʃaʊ ˈmeɪn/) are stir-fried noodles, the name being an English language corruption of the Taishanese chāu-mèing.The dish is popular throughout the Chinese diaspora where it will appear on the menu of Chinese restaurants.It is particularly popular in the United States and Britain.

I love my chow mein with prawns and mushrooms with lots of chilli and spring onions. I can almost smell it as I write this. It’s such a rich and exotic taste, one forkful of chow mein is like a taste of Christmas. It’s just awesome.

As the weirdo that I am, I like to learn to cook my favourite meals so I found a very easy recipe and I want to share it with you.

Preparation time:
6 minutes
Cooking time:
10 minutes
Serves:
2
Ingredients:
1 tbsp, vegetable oil
1 pack, beansprouts
1 pack, noodles
10-12 king prawns
A pinch of salt, or to taste
1 tsp soya sauce, or to taste
Spring onions, sliced (optional)
Lots of mushrooms(added by Amyn)

Preparation instructions:
a. Ensure you have taken off the shell off your king prawns and that they are cooked.
If you have bought them raw, take off its shell, boil some water in a pan and boil the king prawns for about two minutes until pink.
TIP: If the king prawns are grey in colour they are raw, if they are pink they have been pre-cooked.
Also make sure you lay the prawn flat and make a cut down its side and take out its intestines. You will see this as a black line running down the side of the king prawn.
Cooking instructions:
Heat oil in a wok, on high heat until hot.
Fry the beansprouts and noodles for two minutes
Next add in the king prawns and fry for a further three minutes
Then add in the chopped mushrooms and fry for thirty seconds.
Add salt and soya sauce to taste and fry for another three minutes. Serve.

And this was what got after that….
Beautiful, isn’t it? It’s not as pretty as the one above but I’m working on it and PRACTICE MAKES PERFECT!

20140407-172647.jpg

