A Lonely Job…

Image

“An artist is always alone – if he is an artist.”  -Henry Miller.

Maya Angelou died yesterday, she was old so I’m not supposed to be sad, but I just wonder why all the good people are always the first to die and we get stuck with these….never mind.  I have been really busy with school work and all, that’s why I haven’t posted anything in a long while, trimester two ended on the 28th meaning I have a few days before I dive into my final M.A big project. I had all the best ideas for this blog when I was in the library but I couldn’t  develop them because I had to focus on uni and now that I have the time, I suddenly have nothing concrete to blog about, weird right? I have a lot of material for my fiction blog though, thanks to the creative writing course we took.

I wanted to rant about the #bringbackourgirls campaign, I don’t gel well with these kind of topics, there was the Battabox sex toys vox pop that I really wanted to analyse but I don’t think I had enough ammunition for that piece(honestly). Recently an app that can calculate a Nigerian girl’s bride price was launched, caused a lot of drama but truly I don’t care much about that. The most recent is Tiwa Savage’s new video, Wanted. Now, that’s an interesting topic but too superficial (I like using big words), Nigerian female artists don’t get the attention they are supposed to so, they do anything to get the attention, not my problem.

This merry-go-round made me rethink the direction I want to take this blog, I will be two years old this September and I am starting to feel very old(hehehe). I had intended to make this blog my classroom and venting place till I started to get emails from readers who wanted my opinion on certain matters or relationship advice or they just wanted me to talk about myself, now I have to reconstruct my arrangement. This blog will continue to be my venting place, instead of only replying emails, I will address issues my readers send to me on the blog(with their permission of course).

Writing is a very lonely job and I can never be sure that my message, what I’m really trying to say, is ever going to reach the right people at the right time. I know sometimes it doesn’t even reach anyone, what gives me hope is sometimes my words might reach someone exactly when they need to read them the most. Okay, enough of this sap story, my point is that I’m not your typical on-the-pulse kind of blogger, I write whatever I want, when I want and how I want which is super fun. Now I have to work hard at my consistency, and keep it at a minimum of 1 post per week and a maximum of two.

Please keep your requests and comments and emails coming, I appreciate all of them. June is going to be an amazing month!!

 

