Guess Who’s Coming For Dinner..?

Yesterday, daddy dearest decided to take mummy and I to Coldstone. It was a beautiful evening, nice banter as usual. Then I spotted a couple at the corner. I’m guessing they were on a date, the annoying thing about this couple? Their phones. They didn’t even talk to each other, the girl kept taking selfies, while the guy just chatted on his phone. The time was 2000hrs, so I’m guessing they were waiting to see a movie next door, The Filmhouse. Why am I ranting? Isn’t it obvious? Why on earth would you go out with someone if you can’t even hold a conversation with them?!? I was so angry! On their behalf, I just felt it was a complete waste of time.

Anyway, that’s not the focus of this post. I’m on the #TipsyChristmas(alcohol induced Christmas cheer) train this year and I was thinking about Christmas dinners or lunches, whatever you do in your house. Normally, we invite friends over at mine for Christmas, and I cook something awesome and I make amazing cocktails and everyone has a fabulous time. This year, my blessed mother said I deserved a break, so I’m not cooking. We’ll be on restaurant runs this year(whoop whoop!!!)

We have this amazing bottle of Port that will be opened on Christmas day and I was thinking; what if I could host one of my awesome dinners, who in the world would I want at my table? I have heard this question before but it only requires one dinner date, naturally I want a party of twelve including myself. (that’s how I roll)

I drafted a list of potential guests I would love at my table. There will be ten awesome guests, my partner in crime and my fabulous self. These ten people are individuals whose brains I would love to chew (seriously), you can say they are branches off my inspiration tree.(if that makes sense to you, you are a winner).I will also be sharing my favourite quotes from the guests. Oh, my partner in crime is a male, just in case you are wondering. I also have a theme, all parties should have themes. I’m expecting you to guess the theme of this party as you read through, and I will reveal at the end. Deal? Awesome!

1- Blake Shelton

1159529-blake-shelton_Russ-Harrington-617-409

“Shoot, man, I love everybody! I don’t have time to hate.
I think the worst thing you can do is blend in. Why would you ever want to blend in?” Isn’t he just dreamy? If you have watched The Voice, or listened to his album, you’d understand why I would love to invite him to dinner. I mean, he is so laid back (from what i see on TV) and pure. I just love his sense of humour and his ability to laugh at himself. His voice is also spectacular (his talking voice).
2- Diane Von Furtstenburg
images

“The most important relationship in your life is the relationship you have with yourself. Because no matter what happens, you will always be with yourself.” This amazing woman always has the most captivating stories about her life, why wouldn’t she? She has experienced so much! She is so sure of herself and so confident, I want her to talk to me about stuff. And I feel, she can adapt to any kind of situation without being fussy. And I love how she built the DVF brand, she must have met so many bulldozers but she stood her ground. I like her a lot.

3- Tom Hiddleston

imagesKQIFXYJ2

“This generation has lost the true meaning of romance. There are so many songs that disrespect women. You can’t treat the woman you love as a piece of meat. You should treat your love like a princess. Give her love songs, something with real meaning. Maybe I’m old fashioned but to respect the woman you love should be a priority.” He is invited to dinner because he says things like this and he looks like that! He is also a phenomenal stage actor and I loved him in Midnight In Paris. Have you seen him play pranks?!? He is a genius! AND HE LOOKS LIKE THAT!!!!

4- Cameron Diaz

cameron d

“I don’t care how smart a kid you are. The only way you learn what’s not right is from experience.”  Her laugh! It’s her laugh, i just love it. She is that gorgeous and so funny. Her attitude to life is endearing, really. And I think she is very strong beneath all the funny. And I have a feeling she will like pepper soup.

5- Wole Soyinka

imagesOO1G7FYR

“The greatest threat to freedom is the absence of criticism.”  Asides wanting to touch his hair, this man is a store of stories. I want to climb inside his head and live there for a month. That is all.

6- Zoe Wicomb

untitled999

“I am a reluctant writer, still terrified of confronting the blank screen, and so it’s best to take the bull by the horns as early as I can manage. I settle at my desk with a cup of coffee and hot-water bottle strapped to my back just after 7. There I remain until I have produced at least 500 words.” This is what I want to be when i grow up. I strive to live a life like this. I want her her strength. I want her commitment. I want her style. If you haven’t read Zoe Wicomb, I don’t know what to say to you. She is KING!
7- Liam Neeson
untitled99
“I’m a big believer in acts of kindness, no matter how small.” I’m a believer too Liam! I have seen EVERY movie of this man. I’m obsessed with him. I love the whole broody vibe he has going on. And he is a grandpa! (I love grandpas). And he has a very kind smile. AND he is Irish, we will definitely have an awesome time.
8- Jackie Collins
untitled77
“Men are cheaters.Women are not to be trusted.And most people are dumb.”  Preach Jackie, preach! I have also read EVERYTHING ever published by this woman. I was reading mills and booms when I discovered Jackie Collins. That was when I started to write. She is so different and doesn’t care about the rules, which is awesome. I also know she would have a lot of interesting stories share.
9- Ed Sheeran
imagesRIIP31DU

“Be nice to everyone, always smile, and appreciate things because it could all be gone tomorrow. If someone tells you to change yourself, tell them to go fuck themselves.” This is the kind of person I like to associate with. This guy needs no introduction at this point. He is my new addiction. I just want to know his thought process when creates music. G.E.N.I.U.S

10- Jennifer Lawrence

imagesN0V4NKAX

“I don’t know if this is why everything has worked so well and I’m not sure I’d recommend this kind of thinking to anyone else, but I’ve always known I’d be successful in acting. I have certainly worked for it.” She’s an actress. A very good actress. And a girl’s girl, you know. The type of person who would always have your back no matter what, and i just like her laugh too.

And that’s my fantasy guest list. Have you guessed the them yet? Lol! You guessed right, there is no theme. I just want to have dinner with these awesome people and listen to their life stories and the things that inspire them. Won’t you want to be at this table though? If you could host your own party with six guests, who would you invite and why? Drop a comment below and let’s dream together…x

Are you enjoying the holidays yet?

