This Is Why I Blog …

I don’t like it when I’m called a blogger. I don’t think I am. I like to think that I’m a writer who blogs. Seriously, I have seen, read and watched bloggers and I’m not close to these phenomenal people. I’m just a writer.

In the last six months I have had conversations with friends and readers about how far I want to take the blog and any I answer I give, makes them feel that I am unserious and not hungry enough for “success”. But how do you even judge success? My definition is very different(post for another day). I would like to answer a few concerns that have been raised since I started this blog and hopefully it will help you understand why I do what I do and the way that I do it.

Why do I blog? I started this blog because I wanted a space to pour my thoughts and save them. I should write them in a jounal but my house could get burnt, I can get robbed or any other horrible thing can cause the loss of my journals. Blogging about the things in my head helps me save them. That was the first reason for the blog. I wasn’t trying to preach life lessons to people or anything. My mind is such a busy place and I always need to pour excess material elsewhere. When I need to vent or give myself advice in the third person or write down an observation, I come to the blog. With time, I learnt that some people actually liked what I wrote, some thought it was funny, some thought it made a little sense and some just enjoyed reading maybe they were bored, I don’t know. But some people in this world actually enjoy reading my thoughts which is good and I think it means you have a bit of crazy in you. My readers are a very interesting bunch of people(asides my family and friends who read it because they know me), readers send very detailed messages to me about what I write, things I should write about and the best of them, thank you messages. I once got a mail, this lovely married woman told me to stay crazy and not conform because she felt she was living life through me. That was one of my best moments from this blog. So I might like to say, I blog for people to read, but that’s not why I sit at my laptop to type. I blog because it makes me feel better. I blog to pour out my thoughts. I blog because I like to write things down. Anything at all. If you notice, this blog literarilly has no direction. I just write whatever comes to my mind.

How far do I see the blog going? The thing is, I’m growing with this blog, my changes in life have been documented on this blog. Who knows by the time I’m sixty –nine(wink wink) I might do a compilation and publish it. This blog is like a pet dog, we are going to be together for a long time. And regarding making money from it, it’s not something I’m chasing. Let’s continue with the dog analogy. I enjoy being with my pet, I think it’s really cute and I post pictures of it online but if someone liked the picture enough to brand it with their product, I wouldn’t say no. What I wouldn’t do is go door to door looking for someone to use my dog in an ad. Do you get it? Okay cool. Some people feel that, me not looking for monetary appreciation from the blog doesn’t portray me as a serious media person. First of all, if you are looking for a serious media person, don’t call me because I’m not serious. I like to create things and to do that I need a certain level of chaos to operate in. And trust. If you can’t trust my crazy? You wouldn’t want to work with me anyways. The only thing that I can say with my head raised up is this, I am a Creative Media Professional. That’s right, I’m a Pro. So you don’t need to worry about my career path. If you have worked with me, or know people who have , then you’d know.

So, did that help a bit/ can we go back to me writing my junk again? Awesome. I missed you too.

I have so much lined up this week, I’m looking forward to sharing it with you. Don’t forget to subscribe so you can get emails when I freshly post. see you later..x

