#LipglossmaffiaBookClub: December Reading List…

Welcome to December!

I’m so excited! This is my best part of the year. Well, second best, because October is my favourite month. I was going to wait for the new year, before starting this category but I couldn’t wait. Beside, “new year, new me” stuff don’t ever work out for me so, when I want to start some something, I pick a new day, or a new week or in this case a new month. And what better way to help inspire you to read more, or maybe even gift someone this Christmas. Books are excellent presents, I believe it’s the gift that keeps on giving.

For the longest time, I have thought about how to incorporate my love for books on the blog with it looking like a “book-ish” blog. I love books, I love to read them, smell them, get lost in their pages, OWN them.

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”
― George R.R. Martin

So, this my way of sharing that love with you. I want us to re-cultivate that culture of reading  again. And judging by what is going on the world, I think reading is absolutely necessary, even if it’s just for the escape it provides. This month, I want to focus on just Nigerian writers. I’m starting enjoy the new style of Nigeria writers, I think they are opening up a little bit more. Or what do you think?

1- Born On A Tuesday, Elnathan John

2- a little bit of difference, Sefi Atta

3- ODUFA _ A Lover’s Tale, Othuke Ominiabohs

This book is one of the worst books I have ever read. I stopped at page 33 because i felt my brain shrinking with every line that I read. To be honest, i wouldn’t recommend this book to anyone. At all. It was so cheesy I thought I was going to throw up. VERDICT: 3/10)

4-Baron Of Broad Street, EL Nukoya

Don’t forget to recommend your favourite novels to me? Is there any particular Nigerian author that you’re excited about? Already started on the first book. img_0007

P.S I have a book on my Christmas wishlist this year. Trevor Noah’s Born A Crime. I don’t know how long it’s going to take for it to reach Nigerian bookshops, but if you get a whiff of this book anywhere, please let me. Or you can just get it for me. After all, Christmas is the season of giving.

849x493q70marianne-trevornoah

I hope you found this post interesting. Let’s connect on social media.
Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

Have You Checked Out:

LIPGLOSSMAFFIA: A STORY OF FRAGILE INSANITY…

YOU MEAN SOMETHING TO SOMEONE…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIAGUIDE: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU RUN INTO YOUR EX…

*#THEWEEKLY8:THINGS YOU NEED TO DO ALONE AT LEAST ONCE…

*BEING SAD IS JUST ONE PART OF THE STORY…

xoxo

1472431910280111161116

