Lipglossmaffia Style: Tips For Wearing Chiffon Dresses…

Yaaay!

 

It’s my first style post!

pumpgirl

This is my mood most days and it’s exactly how I dance.

 

I feel like I should tell you what my style is before we get in too deep. I’m still figuring it out but these days, my style can be described as comfortable, easy, practical and laid back. Emphasis on “comfortable”. I like jeans and t shirts, pencil skirts, maxi dresses and short dresses. That’s basically what’s in my wardrobe. Oh, and cardigans. I have a lot of those. The #LipglossmaffiaStyle series will be me giving you tips and tricks from the little that I know about fashion, I will also be showcasing other stylebloggers that I like. Today we are discussing chiffon maxi dresses.

 

Chiffon! It is one of my favourite fabrics. 

 

Chiffon is a flowing and light fabric that is a very popular material for all sorts of dresses. Due to its light weight and elegant appearance, it is preferred for everything from casual wear to wedding dresses. A major reason people use this fabric is due to the several varieties it offers. You can, for example, choose silk, nylon or cotton. If you can afford to pay a slightly higher amount, you can also buy pure chiffon for your dresses. While these dresses certainly do look gorgeous, you can use my tips in order to make sure that you look your best when you wear them. Here are some Recessionista tips for wearing chiffon dresses:

img_20170107_211150.jpg

 

Be Careful About The Sheerness 

These materials are very light and sheer, which means that you will have to wear them with multiple layers of clothing. When choosing what to wear under your chiffon dresses, you have to be extra careful. For example, wearing dark undergarments can ruin the look of your dress. The best tip is to either buy a slip(aka shimie) of the same color as your dress or to get a white one. These slips are highly affordable and can save you a lot of embarrassment.

img_20170104_170825.jpg

 

Minimal Accessories

 The overall look of chiffon dresses is that of simplicity and elegance. Unless you prefer otherwise, you should keep it this way. Pair your dress up with modest jewellery. Ideally, you should go for a decent set of earrings and a pendant. A simple clutch can also look highly elegant with these dresses. I love a minimalist look. 

img_20170107_210830.jpg

 

Go For Both Long And Short Dresses

Some people only make long dresses out of chiffon, thinking that the flowing material is meant for such dresses. This, however, is not true. While you certainly can make some amazing long dresses out of it, the material is also ideal for short dresses. You can get a short dress stitched to fit your physique perfectly. However, to make sure this does not become a problem, you must buy the material carefully. It should be slightly stretchable so that it will not tear easily.

 

img_20170107_211026.jpg

 

All in all, you can look absolutely stunning in chiffon as long as you know how to carry them. You must also focus on the quality of the fabric, since this will determine the final look of your dress. As long as you get the dress sewn properly, you can be rest assured that you will look amazing! And don’t be afraid to experiment, Like I did with the denim jacket below.

 

I shop for fabrics at Tejuosho market in Lagos. I always get good deals there and the variety of choices is insane. This particular fabric was bought at #250naira per yard in September 2016(now it should be between 300-350, dollar rates and all) and I bought three yards to make this.(no, I didn’t sew it myself) I have four tailors that I trust to make my clothes. P.S that’s key to being a creative Recessionista, You need to have really good “affordable” tailors on speed dial.

 

Lipglossmaffia

 

Now, I should mention here that I am not a model, I mostly hate posing for pictures except I’m in a super good mood but I’m all for growth so I am giving myself the opportunity to learn more. You’re going to have to deal with my awkward poses(so just focus on the dresses). I’m inspired by some style bloggers, I would do a list of that later in the year. 

 

 

Styling: My baby sister @Laphattie

Make-Up: @dymphnas_makeover

Photo: @Moyekan

 

img_20170104_170134.jpg

 

**********

I hope you found this post interesting. Let’s connect on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

Have You Checked Out:

*WHAT IS SUCCESS? THOUGHTS FROM A 20-SOMETHING YEAR OLD FEMALE…

*YOU MEAN SOMETHING TO SOMEONE…

*SADLY, WE CAN’T SAVE EVERYONE…

*BEING SAD IS JUST ONE PART OF THE STORY…

*MUSINGS OF THE MAFFIA: KEEPING SPARE TYRES…

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116-1

