#LipglossmaffiaBookClub: These Words Expose Us || The Naked Convos…

Hey you!

I am so sure you have started on the #ReadingChallenge. If you haven’t, it’s not too late. It’s never too late to start a reading challenge, besides, we are still in January.

 

#LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge

#Lipglossmaffia2017ReadingChallenge

 

The first post from the challenge is here. I am still figuring out how I want the posts to be like, I can guarantee that you will definitely see the progression as the weeks go by. Maybe by the fourth book of the Challenge, the format of the #LipglossmaffiaBookClub  series would be more visible.

 

For my second pick, I chose:

 

*A Collection Of Short Stories

lipglossmaffia-reading-challenge-book-2

This book was gifted to me by the TNC board for having the most viewed article, on their website in November 2016, you can read that here and here. I also got this amazing cup, I felt so special, it’s my first time my writing has gotten me a gift. And it feels really nice to be appreciated.

REVIEW {Ratings: 3.5 out of 5}

 These Words Expose Us is an anthology published in 2014. There are sixteen stories in this book with a total of 118 pages. I would have finished this book in a day but adulting would not allow me be great. I really enjoyed reading this, I hope they compile another one very very soon (I would find a way to sneak in one of my stories in it). These Words Expose Us aimed to answer the question, have you ever read a story that left you feeling naked, vulnerable and exposed?”  Was this question answered? Well, kinda. I could related to dome of the stories, The Thing With Mr Lawal which was a young girl’s internal battle with her demons when she starts dating an older man.

wp-1484741132901.jpg

There, I Said It, is also one of my favourite stories. It’s the shortest story in this collection and it shows the frustration of a newly married man. Do you know what I realized while reading this book, these stories are all relatable. We might fight them but it is the truth. Our truth. Some of the stories made me mad, some made me upset and one just made me gasp. I was not ready for the plot twist in Orange Tree. Overall, this was a decent read. I liked it. Have you read it? What did you think about it? What were your favourite stories?

wp-1484741147304.jpg

**********

I hope you found this post interesting. Let’s connect on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

 

Have You Checked Out:

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIABOOKCLUB: THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD || BELINDA BAUER…

*LIPGLOSSMAFFIA OCTOBER BLOG CHALLENGE: DAY 13

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIABOOKCLUB: DECEMBER READING LIST…

LIPGLOSSMAFFIA BOOK CLUB: 2017 READING CHALLENGE…

*THE BEST BOOK CLUB ON EARTH BELONGS TO ME…

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116-1

