#LipglossmaffiaStyle: What’s Your Street Style Type?

T  G  I  F

giphy

I haven’t been paid but I am still excited about the weekend. I really need a break from work. Or maybe I just really need to find another job.(Fingers still crossed on that)

 

Before I begin, I want state that I really don’t like “types” or “label” or “boxes” but I understand that it makes life easier for some people to compartmentalize. I still don’t like it though. For the purpose of this post, I had to look up the meaning of Street Style. Initially, I thought it was normal everyday clothing but damn! It’s a whole world out there. What?

 

According to Wikipedia:

“Street fashion is fashion that is considered to have emerged not from studios, but from the grassroots streetwear. Street fashion is generally associated with youth culture, and is most often seen in major urban centers. Magazines and Newspapers like the New York Times and Elle commonly feature candid photographs of individuals wearing urban, stylish clothing. Mainstream fashion often appropriates street fashion trends as influences.”

Well, there you have it. Street Fashion is a big friggin’ deal. From what I understand, your street style is supposed to showcase your personality. I should be able to tell what kind of person you are from your street style. I should know if you’re fussy or if you’re fun. So many factors to consider, I really don’t care much about that, I talked about my style here. So i’m pretty sure you know if i was wearing something that made me uncomfortable.*wink wink* What are the different street styles? No worries. I have done some digging.

  • Bohemian

Leather fringe, peasant blouses, vests, embroidery, flares, and cross-body bags

 

  • Ladylike

Flirty silhouettes, structured bags, dainty jewellery, and delicate fabrics

 

  • Minimal

Simple shapes, solid colours, and minimal detailing

 

  • Preppy

Breton stripes, plaid, tailored separates,  and oxfords

 

  • Quirky

Memorable prints, playful accessories, loud colours, and multiple layers

 

  • Risk Taker

Bold accessories, daring hemlines, unusual prints, and distressed detailing

 

  • Rock ‘n’ Roll

Distressed detailing, leather separates, faux fur coats, band tees, and messy hair

 

  • Tomboy

Boxy shapes, simple colour palette, and boyish accessories

 

  • Trendsetter

Mixed prints, on-trend colours, and statement jewellery

 

 

What I noticed is, I didn’t find my style description(if I have any, so I decided to invent mine.

 

  • The Recessionista

Whatever the hell you can afford, comfortable and practical. 

lipglossmaffias-blog

I think sneaker wedges are the best thing since slice bread.

 

See? 

lipglossmaffia

lipglossmaffia-blog

recessionista-lipglossmaffia-blog

Got this neck piece for 3 pounds, I think…

 

Styling: My baby sister @Laphattie

Make-Up: @dymphnas_makeover

Photo: @Moyekan

 

lipglossmaffia-style-blogger

Still working on this posing business…

 

I will be sharing more Recessionista tips  as we go on this fantastic journey called, life.

 

If you are asked what your street style is, can you confidently say what it is? You don’t have to follow what the fashion industry dictates, use your words, create one own your style!

 

**********

I hope you found this post interesting. Let’s connect on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

Have You Checked Out:

*LIPGLOSSMAFFIA STYLE: TIPS FOR WEARING CHIFFON DRESSES…

*YOU MEAN SOMETHING TO SOMEONE…

*SADLY, WE CAN’T SAVE EVERYONE…

*BEING SAD IS JUST ONE PART OF THE STORY…

*MUSINGS OF THE MAFFIA: KEEPING SPARE TYRES…

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116

 

