#Spotlight: An Interview With Jemima Osunde, Actress and Medical Student…

Welcome to another interesting episode of #Spotlight. It’s the latest series on the hit blog, Lipglossmaffia, if this is your first time  reading #Spotlight, catch up here. And if this is the first time on the blog, Welcome To The Dark Side! Okay it’s not dark, it’s kind of colourful when you read through, I don’t even know why I call it the dark side. But Dark Side sounds so cool though. (if you did’t read this in radio speak, I don’t know what’s wrong with you. Now, take it from the top)

 

Today’s guest is a stunning personality. Stunning!

 

lipglossmaffia-spotlight-jemima-osunde

 

The first time I met her, she came to audition for the role of a presenter at my workplace. Let me insert a backstory here; I had been auditioning for presenters for almost four months and I had met the worst of the worst, it was a terrible time in my life, I started drinking as early as 8am(normally it’s 10am because I’m responsible as fuck), it was that bad. I need you to truly understand my state of mind. So, one very dull Thursday, Jemima walked in, with the largest smile and my first thought was, “damn, the camera would love that face“, then I silently prayed, “please God, let her be good“. I have to testify that God indeed answers. She was so good!

Over the past few months, I have got to know her and what a joy it has been. She is a student of physiotherapy at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital, she is also a full time actress. Came into the limelight when she played the role of Leila, in MTV Shuga.

 

 

Since then, she has numerous productions, including NdaniTV’s  Rumour Has It. Jemima is known for her rolein Naija Beta (2016), Silence (2016) and the latest that I’m so excited about,  Esohe (2017).

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-10.jpg.jpg

When the idea for #Spotlight popped up, she was one of the first people that came to mind, she has such a calming aura that I had to dig deeper. Let’s explore…

 

####

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-9.png.png

 

How would you describe your acting style?
I’d describe my acting style as subtle. Not the regular Africa magic drama. It’s a bit more sophisticated and relatable I think.
Which actor (or actors) do you admire and why?
I really admire Adesua Etomi because she’s such a fantastic actress and an even more amazing person. I also really love Mercy Johnson because I genuinely believe there’s no role that she can’t do justice to, she’s very versatile.
What types of projects are you looking to work on?
I hope to work on more international projects. Movies with deep story lines and characters that I will be remembered for decades from now.
How do you combine acting with medical school? Where do you draw the line?
I’m able to combine acting with med school because I try to do one thing at a time. I manage myself for now and try not to over load myself with work especially when I have a lot to do at school. At the end of the day, school is my first priority until I graduate, then I can fully throw myself into work. Right now, all I’m doing is setting the pace for later.

 

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-7.png.png

 

What do you feel most proud of?
I’m proud of how much I’ve been able to achieve in my career in such a short time.
Being so young, how do you combine acting and med school?
I try to be very organised. Keep a tight but effective schedule and rest as much as I can.

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-6.png.png

 

If you could only keep five possessions, what would they be?
It would have to be:
My phone
Lip balm
Some cash
My ID
A power bank. Lol
What is your best childhood memory?
My best childhood memory would have to be getting my first puppy. Well technically it wasn’t mine, it was my brothers but it seemed to love me more which worked for me.

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog1.png.png
What was one of your most defining moments in life?
Going for my very first audition. That was my first major step towards making the decision to start acting.
How do you spend your free time?
I spend my free time with friends or by myself, mostly sleeping.
What feels like love to you?
What feels like love to me is a nice meal of amala, ewedu, gbegiri and goat meat! Lol… I guess it’ll have to be when someone understands me and is genuinely interested in keeping me happy.

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-8.png.png
If you could witness any event of the past, present, or future, what would it be?
I’d choose to watch my mother while she gave birth to me 😊
What is your strongest personal quality?
My ability to let go. I don’t let things bother me for too long.
If you won the lottery, what would you do?
The first thing I’d do is get myself a new car😩 and then I’d find a way to make more money off the rest of it.

 

 

TOTALLY RANDOM

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog.png.png

 

If you were a tree, what would you be?
A mango tree
What would your last meal be?
Amala with ewedu with gbegiri with assorted and cold Limca
Would you rather be buried alive OR stabbed to death?
Stabbed to death (quicker option ).
If you could create your own girl band, which artists would you put together?
Tiwa, Efya, waje and Niniola.
What’s one thing you can’t live without?
Love.
What’s the best of advice you have ever received?
Don’t ever think it’s okay to be rude. Be polite. Not because they deserve it but because you’re nice and your reward is benevolence from the one that matters the most, God.

jemima-osunde-on-lipglossmaffias-blog-5.png.png

Stunning!

 

Thank you so much Jemima. Wishing you the most amazing experiences moving forward!

 

**********

I hope you found the post interestingLet’s connect more on social media.
Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

Have You Checked Out:

*7 REASONS WHY I THINK IT’S TIME FOR A NEW JOB…

*THE MAFFIATRIBE SPEAKS: ON THE ART OF FELLATIO…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIAGUIDE: WHAT TO DO WHEN YOU RUN INTO YOUR EX…

*HOW TO FALL IN LOVE BY ASKING THESE 36 QUESTIONS…

*LIPGLOSSMAFFIA STYLE: TIPS FOR WEARING CHIFFON DRESSES…

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116

 

 

