#LipglossmaffiaBookclub: Like A Mule Bringing Ice Cream To The Sun || Sarah Ladipo Manyika…

Hey’all!

 

I hope you have been keeping up with #LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge? As the months keep rolling, we get more busy but you always need to find time to do a little reading. It’s may way of sharpening the saw. According Stephen Covey’s  The 7 Habits Of Highly Effective People, “to Sharpen the Saw means preserving and enhancing the greatest asset you have–you. It means having a balanced program for self-renewal in the four areas of your life: physical, social/emotional, mental, and spiritual.” If you haven’t, it’s not too late. It’s never too late to start a reading challenge. 

 

#LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge

#Lipglossmaffia2017ReadingChallenge

 

For my third pick, I chose…

 

*A Book You Can Finish In A Day

Title: Like A Mule Bringing Ice Cream To The Sun || Sarah Ladipo Manyika

Pages: 118

My Ratings: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Publisher: Cassava Republic

Release Date: 2016

Summary: Morayo Da Silva, a cosmopolitan Nigerian woman, lives in San Francisco. On the cusp of seventy-five, she is in good health and makes the most of it, enjoying road trips in her vintage Porsche, chatting to strangers, and recollecting characters from her favourite novels. Then she has a fall and her independence crumbles. Without the support of family, she relies on friends and chance encounters.

wp-1486461052912.jpg

 

 

What a rush! This might be one of the best books I have ever read in one sitting. Literally.

 

BACKSTORY: I forgot my house keys, and my folks weren’t home so I stayed in for my car for three hours and finished this amazing book. With a full bladder!(I should have peed before I left the office, silly me). I might be biased, the main character in this book is an old woman and you know I love my old people. Like, I really really love them. That feeling people get when they see puppies or babies, that’s the same feeling I get when I see old people. But I digress…

 

Anyhoo, Morayo is perhaps the coolest old woman in fictional world, she says things like, “I’ll hook you up“, she plans to get a tattoo for her seventy fifth birthday, she drives a Porsche, she wears neon pink bras. Best part? She is a book lover! She is all shades of amazing. An English professor who was married to a diplomat with no kids, we follow her journey of ageing through her eyes and the point of view of the other characters in the book.

 

lipglossmaffia-bookclub-1

 

One time her little friend, Sunshine helped clean her home and some books got thrown away by accident and she freaked out. Called the young woman stupid and thoughtless and I could relate with that, like why would someone think that they have the right to throw your things away just because it is old, what about your feelings and the memories they bring you? But she eventually apologized, because Sunshine did it from a place of goodness.

 

There is a shade in this book that made me drop the book and clap, like, “gurllllll, you know this!” 

“But even as I find myself searching the internet for homes in Ikoyi, I know that I’m not likely to feel at home in such a crowded city. I remember how it floods during rainy season. I remember the power cuts and the unruly traffic, and how few bookshops there are, how few cafes and museums” Pg 5

 

giphy-3

Dang! 

And it’s so true, we don’t have bookshops, cafes or museums in Lagos. Well, there are some but it is not enough. At all.

 

 

I also had a question to ask in one part where her ex husband said she made love in a “motherly fashion”. All these men, how the fuck do they come up with these things. I mean he was well aware that he was the only man she had ever been with. Mtshewww, I was like, “sorry o, Mr Expert, Mr I-have-been-with-so-many-women-I-can-identify-different-types-of-lovemaking.” Nonsense. And you read her recollections about Antonio, a man from her past, you almost blush, when I read that part, I was like, “Grandma! Stop it, you naughty minx!”

 

lipglossmaffia-bookclub-2

This is so true!

 

All in all this is a book I would recommend for anyone, it was a really good read. I’m going to give it 4 out of 5 stars because there were multiple points of view and it took me a little while to catch up with who it was(I blame my slowness on the fact that my bladder needed to be emptied and my mum and sis didn’t come back early), but asides that, lovely, lovely book. I change my mind, I should probably give it 4.5 stars. Lol.

lipglossmaffia-bookclub-3

 

Are you up for the reading challenge? Whenever you tick a book off the list, just take a picture and post it on whatever social media(Instagram and twitter would be great) you’re on and use the hashtag #LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge and/or tag me so I can find it. At the end of the year, I would love to curate all the pictures and the experiences on here.

 

**********

I hope you found this post interesting and useful. Let’s connect on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

 

Have You Checked Out:

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIABOOKCLUB: THE BEAUTIFUL DEAD || BELINDA BAUER…

*LIPGLOSSMAFFIA OCTOBER BLOG CHALLENGE: DAY 13

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIABOOKCLUB: DECEMBER READING LIST…

LIPGLOSSMAFFIA BOOK CLUB: 2017 READING CHALLENGE…

*THE BEST BOOK CLUB ON EARTH BELONGS TO ME…

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116

 

 

 

