#Spotlight: An Interview With Author Sally Kenneth Dadzie…

“A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.”

― Thomas Mann

Sally, Sally, Sally!

I haven’t met Sally yet, but I feel like she and I are potential best friends. you would understand why at the end of her interview. Sally  popped on my radar when I was looking for “independent Nigeria writers” on Google. I saw a website, MoskedaPages which is one of the best websites for fiction indulgence. The writers on there are amazing! My God!

MoskedaPages is a literary site dedicated to online literature in Nigeria.The site is open not just to other writers but to lovers of literature as well. The aim is to keep the reading culture going, encouraging young people to keep writing and never stop reading. With other contributing authors, Moskedapages also offers advice on love, relationship and lifestyle.

Anyhoo,  I saw a story written by Sally and when I went on to click on her twitter handle, I discovered we were already following each other on twitter. Damn. Small fucking world. That’s when I started stalking her. She is such a fun bubbly character. As busy as a bee is the best way to describe her, she is a writer, content creator, editor, blogger, wife and a Mommy. I don’t know how she finds the time to breathe. Did I mention that she is also a best selling author? 

lipglossmaffia-fourth-finger-sally-kenneth-dadzie

I’m not going to give any spoilers at all on this one, you are going to have to read my review when it’s up on #LipglossmaffiaBookClub. You should definitely get it on Okada Books. If you who want PDF copy, you can reach her by sending an email to moskedapages@gmail.com   Fun Fact: She now holds the record for the highest sales for a single author on OkadaBooks. She set a new monthly record primarily from sales of  The Fourth Finger.

This ain’t no slacker, folks! This is what I want to be when I grow up! I’m always fascinated with writers and their thought process, so I had to interview Sally. I hope you enjoy the interview…

lipglossmaffia-spotlight-with-sally-kenneth-dadzie

What is the first book that made you cry?

The Bible. I was about eight years old when I first read the story of Joseph and his brothers on my own. Joseph’s ordeal shook me. And weirdly, I am reading it again as part of my daily devotional routine, and feeling the same emotions.

 

 

What is the most unethical practice in the Nigerian publishing industry?

I don’t really have an answer to that, as I have not yet gotten into the paperback publishing world. I’m more of a new generation writer. A digital one.

 

 

Does writing energize or exhaust you?

It does both.

 

 

If you had a chance for a “do-over” in life, what would you do differently?

I would undo the time I wasted, dreaming I could be a singer. But I can sing; it’s just that it isn’t for me. Writing was my life. I had discovered the gift a long time ago but had taken it merely as a hobby. I would love to undo all that time wasted and give myself a head-start.

 

lipglossmaffia-spotlight-with-sally

If you could send a message to the entire world, what would you say in 30 seconds?

Stop the hate, people. Just stop the hate.

 

 

If you received enough money to never need to work again, what would you spend your time doing?

Traveling the world and writing about the places I’ve been.

 
Do you try more to be original or to deliver to readers what they want?

I do both. What I write is unavoidably original. I can’t help but be different. But at the same time, I have discovered that people tend to incline towards certain narratives, so I try to include them in my work, making them original, adding twists.

 
Do you think someone could be a writer if they don’t feel emotions strongly?

No, I don’t think that can happen.

 

lipglossmaffia-sally-on-spotlight

 

What other authors are you friends with, and how do they help you become a better writer?

I am acquainted with quite a few. Ofili of Okadabooks is one. Tomilola Adeyemo. They, and a couple of them have helped edit my work and vice versa. They also inspire me when I read their books.

 

 

Do you want each book to stand on its own, or are you trying to build a body of work with connections between each book?

I do the latter, creating a world around the characters in my book. This helps sales. People tend to want to follow the stories they already love. I also have books that stand on their own.

 

 

What was the best money you ever spent as a writer?

Lol! I can’t reveal that. Let’s just say I’ve enjoyed money from book sales. And so has my family.

 
What do you want your tombstone to say?

She loved morning cuddles.

 

 

lipglossmaffia-sally-picture

If you could witness any event of the past, present, or future, what would it be?

The moment my boyfriend (now my husband) kissed me after a nasty breakup that separated us for a year. I didn’t see that kiss coming. It was a magical moment that brought us back together.

 
What is a skill you’d like to learn and why?

I’ll like to learn how to work mechanical and electronic stuff. I damage things a lot. It would be nice to know how to fix them for a change.

 

 

TOTALLY RANDOM 

lipglossmaffia-sally-k-dadzie

 

Would you rather see into the future or read people’s minds?

I’d rather read people’s minds. For fun, I fancy myself a mind-reader. Sometimes, I’m right with my conclusions about what I think people are thinking. Imagine me being right all the time. I’d go crazy.

Would you rather eat a dead rat OR a live worm?

Live worm, biko.

Who’s played the most influential part in your life?

My husband.

What shampoo do you use?

Crème of Nature

What is one unique thing are you afraid of?

Staircases in dreams. I have never been able to climb or come down from a staircase in my dreams. Weird. And this has translated to real life. I now get scared of staircases, especially those spiral ones.

Is there anything you would like to add?

I’d like to add that this was fun and you’re amazing, darling Amyn.

Thank you!

 

You can catch Sally on twitter @Moskedapages     Don’t forget to check out her website, this is one of my all time favourite stories, Novocaine Knights #22       

 

**********

I hope you found the post interestingLet’s connect more on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

Have You Checked Out:

*#SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH JEMIMA OSUNDE, ACTRESS AND MEDICAL STUDENT…

*#SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH ASHLEY OF THE ASH TREE BLOG…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIAGUIDE:THE PROPER WAY TO LICK A GIRL…

*7 REASONS WHY I THINK IT’S TIME FOR A NEW JOB…

*HOW TO FALL IN LOVE BY ASKING THESE 36 QUESTIONS…

XOXO

1472431910280111161116

