#LipglossmaffiaBookClub: A Most Wanted Man || John le Carre…

Hey y’all…

I hope you have been keeping up with the #LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge, if you haven’t, it’s never ever too late to start. I have to admit though, I have been slacking off because this time last year, I had already finished thirty books and now, I can’t even boast of reading fifteen and I think it’s affecting me. So, I’m going to change that very very soon, for updates on that, you should follow me on Instagram at @lipglossmaffia.

 

#LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge

#Lipglossmaffia2017ReadingChallenge

 

 

For my fifth pick, I chose…

 

 

*A Book That Has Been Adapted Into A Movie

 

 

Title: A Most Wanted Man || John le Carre

Pages: 374

My Ratings: 3 out of 5 stars

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton

Release Date: 2008

Summary:  Tommy Brue has inherited a doomed private British bank based in Hamburg. Alone in his office one night he receives a phone call from a young woman lawyer her has never heard of, demanding an immediate face-to-face meeting. Her name is Annabel Richter, her client the mysterious Issa, an illegal immigrant who happens to be in possession of a key to one of the exclusive vaults in Brue’s bank. Issa is also wanted by three of the world’s most powerful intelligence agencies. Alive as he has never been before, Tommy Brue finds himself drawn into an unlikely alliance with this passionate young woman and the man she is willing to risk her life to save.

 

 

img_0067.jpg

 

Very exciting summary, yeah? Sigh. I was excited too but the book started way too slow for me. Way to slow. It picked up in the middle, yeah the freaking middle! I’m very patient like that.

 

 

So, a half-starved young Russian man in a long black overcoat is smuggled into Hamburg at dead of night. He has a suspect amount of cash secreted in a purse around his neck. He is a devout Muslim. I don’t even believe that because he was kind of weird, for instance, one time he let the Koran fall to the floor and when his attention was called to it, he picked it up with one hand.  He says his name is Issa. I didn’t even know that it was German for “Jesus”.

 

IMG_0073

So many books I haven’t read!

 

Annabel, an idealistic young German civil rights lawyer, determines to save Issa from deportation. Soon her client’s survival becomes more important to her than her own career—or safety. In pursuit of Issa’s mysterious past, she confronts the incongruous Tommy Brue, the sixty-year-old scion of Brue Frères, a failing British bank based in Hamburg.

 

IMG_0074

 

The trio form an unlikely alliance, and a triangle of impossible loves is born. Meanwhile, scenting a sure kill in the “War on Terror,” the rival spies of Germany, England and America converge upon the “innocents”.

 

It was a very compassionate read and I gradually fell in love with the characters , A MOST WANTED MAN is alive with humour, yet prickles with tension from the middle until the last heart-stopping page. It is also a work of deep humanity, and uncommon relevance to our times.

IMG_0076

Shelfie!

 

 

These are some of my favourite quotes from the book.

 

 

#LipglossmaffiaBookclub John le Carre quotes.png

 

#LipglossmaffiaBookclub John le Carre quotes 1

 

 

Here is the trailer for the book.

 

 

Are you up for the reading challenge? Whenever you tick a book off the list, just take a picture and post it on whatever social media(Instagram and twitter would be great) you’re on and use the hashtag #LipglossmaffiaReadingChallenge and/or tag me so I can find it. At the end of the year, I would love to curate all the pictures and the experiences on here.

 

So, what are you currently reading?

 

**********

I hope you found the post interestingLet’s connect more on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

If you would like to be a member of The Tribe on BBM, please send me your mail with your pin at lipglossmaffia@gmail.com

Have You Checked Out:

*#SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH JEMIMA OSUNDE, ACTRESS AND MEDICAL STUDENT…

*#SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH ASHLEY OF THE ASH TREE BLOG…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIAGUIDE:THE PROPER WAY TO LICK A GIRL…

*7 REASONS WHY I THINK IT’S TIME FOR A NEW JOB…

*HOW TO FALL IN LOVE BY ASKING THESE 36 QUESTIONS…

XOXO

1472431910280111161116

 

