#Spotlight: An Interview With Radio Savant, GANG…

“Radio affects most intimately, person-to-person, offering a world of unspoken communication between writer-speaker and the listener”.

Marshall McLuhan

 

Hey y’all!

 

Welcome to another super exciting episode of #Spotlight, it is rapidly becoming my favourite thing to do on the blog, if this is your first time encountering the series, don’t worry, I’ve got you! It’s never too late to start. Read the first episode here. Backstory: I started this series because I got tired of waiting for the universe to bless me with my  TV chat show(which will happen sometime in the future, I think), in waiting, I decided to interview the amazing humans of the world and today’s guest is a maestro.

 

My earliest memory of being addicted to radio was with the Rick Dees Weekly Top 40, I never missed any episode, I loved how he drew the listeners in like we were in his living room, drinking Ribena while he told us about the best songs around the world. Fast forward to my second year at the University of Abuja, I discovered the Good Morning Nigeria Show with Gang and I have been a loyal fan. I left Abuja and I kind of stopped listening to the radio but Gang is back in Lagos and sanity has once more returned to the airwaves!

 

Here’s a little profile on him from his company’s website:

 

Tyeng Gang (popularly known as GANG) is from Jos, Plateau Sate and was born March 23 19?? LOL. He is considered one of Abuja’s finest Radio Personalities. Gang is an Award Winning OAP, Events Host, Talent Scout, BUT most importantly according to him, “Loving Husband and Father, Good Son, Cool Brother, Nice Uncle, and Great Friend”. Gang is known for his wit and spontaneity on and off the airwaves; spanning a radio career of over a decade on radio stations across Nigeria. Cool FM Nigeria kick started his career in Abuja, before he joined the pioneering staff of Kiss FM. He would later return to Kiss fm, but not before spreading his knowledge and skill at Cool fm Port-Harcourt, returning to Cool fm Abuja, and then pioneering the ground breaking The BEAT 97.9 Ibadan. He has helped in discovering upcoming talent in the broadcasting world and the music world as well through reality shows like Naija Sings, Project Fame West Africa, and other auditions. His track record speaks for him with accolades for Best On-Air Personality and Presenter from The Future Awards, Nigeria Radio Awards, presenting with Voice of America (VOA) to judging numerous music talent shows.

 

He is currently with Urban 96.5FM, his shows #SunnySideUp & Cover Me Top 10 are literally the best shows on radio, his music selection is top notch. And he is fun to listen to, knowledgeable about almost everything and his voice. Yup, he’s got the voice! You can listen to him on Mixcloud or Urban 96.5FM, duh.

 

Okay, I’m going to stop the PR now, let’s meet our guest…

 

#Spotlight with Tyeng Gang

 

 

When did you start presenting – and what or who were your early passions and influences?

“Started from the bottom, now we’re here…” it was in 2005… my passions were things I watched on TV, music I listen to, and what was going on around me.

 
I know you love your music, how important is building a real relationship with the music you’re playing for your own approach?

There’s so much music out there, is it even possible to build meaningful long-term relationships with a particular track or album or artist? Yes it is possible, but you need to be open minded… just cause you don’t listen to reggae, doesn’t mean you don’t recognise or respect that genre of music. Some songs/albums speak to you; either cause you can relate, or it’s sounds like the artist is speaking to you… from experience, some songs/album are classic and stand the test of time. R.I.P MJ, Tupac, B.I.G, Whitney, Prince, Aaliyah, Dagrin, Teddy Pendergrass, etc

 

When there’s more music than one can possibly take in, it is becoming increasingly hard to know what constitutes an original and a remake anymore. What’s your opinion on the importance of roots, traditions, respecting originals and sources?

“No idea is original; there’s nothing new under the sun, it’s never what you do, but how it’s done…” Artist need to know where they’re coming from, in order to know where they’re going to. If you don’t respect those before you, you won’t get the respect you deserve…

 

#spotlight tyeng gang 5

The relationship with the listener is crucial for an On-Air Personality, and yet it seems to be a fragile one. How do you see the balance between giving them what they want and treating them to something new?

There are some psychos out there sha… you don’t act like you’re speaking to a group of people, but like you’re speaking to one person, to feel that direct connect

 

Tell me about two or three people that have been your favourite guests to interview.

Only 2 or 3??? Tim Westwood, Donnie McClurkin, Marques Houston… Banky W, Darey, M.I… Omawunmi, Waje, Seyi Shay… Rotimi Amaechi, Senator Shehu Sani, Abike Dabiri

 
If you could witness any event of the past, present, or future, what would it be?

The birth of daughters, Trump’s election process and win, when Africa rules the world

 

#spotlight tyeng gang 6

 

What’s one experience you’d like to have before you die?

Sky diving (might be my cause of death) hope the parachute works

 
What do you want your tombstone to say?

“He’s Not Dead☺☺☺” (there has to be an emoji/smiley attached)

 

If you could see one change in the world for the next generation, what would you hope it to be?

To be able to survive without social media… and their phones

 
What feels like love to you?

Recreational drugs, good food, chocolates, and meaningful sex.

 

If you had a chance for a “do-over” in life, what would you do differently?

Marry sooner, father sooner, save better, take more risk, live healthier… and tell the people I love that I love them (touchy right?)

 

#spotlight tyeng gang 4

 
What’s your favourite snack of all time?

Food

 
What would you change about your life if you knew you would never die?

You mean like Dead Pool or Logan..? Never die? What about diseases, accidents, generally feeling pain… so I know the limit to how much trouble I’d look for

 

If you were invited to TEDx as a speaker, what would you talk about?

I would talk about life, and my profession… ‘How To Speak’

 

If you could bring one musician back from the dead, who would it be and why?

I’d bring back my dad; he wasn’t a musician, but why should they get resurrected… Then I’d teach him how to sing. MAYBE Dagrin; just to see if Olamide and others would have careers… WAIT!!! Can I kill one, and resurrect? Cause some of the artist these days need to get shot…

 

 

TOTALLY RANDOM 

#spotlight tyeng gang 3

 

 

Would rather a clone of yourself that you can boss around or have a pet dog who can talk?

I don’t like being bossed around, so pet dog… said my clone… or is it me? Hmmm…

 
Where would you go on an all-expense paid trip?

I’d keep the money #Stingy LOL

 

What’s the difference between normal ketchup and fancy ketchup?

When you use ketchup as a ‘dressing’, it becomes fancy… get it? Dressing? Fancy? KETCHUP IS KETCHUP

 
Would you rather have a missing finger OR an extra toe?

Extra toe… shoes can hide it, plus need all the fingers I can get 😉 *wink*

 
If you were a tree, what tree would you be? Why?

Is there any such thing as a marijuana tree? I’d be Houkisugi at Nakagawa, because it sounds cool, and it’s Japanese.

 
Is there anything you would like to add? YES…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………To be contiunued

Thank you!

 

#spotlight tyeng gang 7

 

**********

I hope you found the post interestingLet’s connect more on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

If you would like to be a member of The Tribe on BBM, please send me your mail with your pin at lipglossmaffia@gmail.com

Have You Checked Out:

*#THEWEEKLY8: THE THINGS THAT MAKE YOU HAPPY WHEN YOU’RE IN YOUR 20S…

*SO FAR, SO GOOD || FIRST QUARTER OF 2017…

*MUSINGS: TO SNOOP THROUGH OUR PARTNER’S TEXTS OR NOT TO SNOOP…

*#SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH MUSICAL MIND, TOMI OWO…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIASTYLE:TOP FASHION BLOGGERS THAT ARE KILLING IT…

*#LIPGLOSSMAFFIABOOKCLUB: TRACE || PATRICIA CORNWELL

XOXO

1472431910280111161116 (1)

