So Far, So Good|| 2nd Quarter of 2017…

June is finally over! Yaaaaay!

 

Happy-GIF

 

I started this self review type post in March because I wanted to be able to keep track of me and the blog. Have you ever gone through an old journal, and just laughed at the kind of things that you loved or found troublesome, agreed with things you might have found really important, hopes and dreams that actually came to pass? Me too. That’s why I wanted to do a self review bit on this blog. When I was going through the first quarter, which you can also read, I was amazed at how much had changed in my life in just three months.

 

I lost my 9-5 job, and I’ve been hustling really hard to make ends meets. It hasn’t been easy, but we are still here. I have attended so many interviews that made me wonder if Nigerian companies actually know what they want for themselves. I have met a lot of oppressors who are aware that young people are getting restless and desperate, so they feed on that and offer peanuts for jobs that they wouldn’t/can’t even do. The older employers complain that the younger ones don’t want to work and feel entitled but I take offense at that because these are people who were spoon fed in their time, people in my generation are hard workers. The problem is, those in my generation who have “made it” don’t want to have anyone else at their table so they oppress and oppress. It’s a sad cycle. I haven’t given up searching for a job, I still have faith.

 

In other news, thanks to the extra time on my hands, I have done so much reading! Good Lord, I can’t even count how many books I’ve read in this three months. I hope you guys have been reading also, I just want to preach the gospel of reading to everyone around me. I want to inspire people to read more, so that they can BE more. When I die, I want to be remembered with benches in public, that have shades so that people can just chill and read in peace. Here is the #ReadingChallenge, it’s not to late to start.

 

3. Place strawberries and cornstarch into a blender. Cover and puree until smooth. Pour strawberry sauce into a saucepan.

 

In the past few days, my morale has been a bit low and I haven’t been able to blog or write or create anything above average. Surprisingly, I haven’t been drinking much, maybe that’s the problem, lol. But seriously, I have been feeling really down, creatively but I’m working through it and life will return to the blog pretty soon. That’s why I HAD to do this particular post. It’s a a renewal of vows, to and for myself, because I know I promised to do so many things this year and I probably haven’t. 

 

Let’s begin…

 

How’s Work???

Well, I don’t have a 9-5 anymore, so I’m making end meet by being a freelance social media manager for a couple of brands. I will like to get a job, there something about working with a team that makes me very happy. So, fingers crossed.

 

 

Learned…

•I really like sweet red wine.
•People project their insecurities a lot so it’s wise to develop thick skim and not take things personal.
•My brain is a pot of gold.
•Everything in Nigeria will kill you if you let it.
•African writers are brilliant. And everyone should start reading them.
•Honey and tumeric may be the key to my glow up

 

 

Angry With…

I don’t think I’m angry with anything at the moment. My skin has thickened over time so I find it hard to get angry over things. My motto is, “Don’t sweat the small stuff. And remember, it’s all small stuff.”

 

 

Hopeful That…

My passion project goes well and leads me to a very exciting path. I’m also hopeful that the wishes of all my friends and family come true. I just want everyone around to be happy and fulfilled.

 

 

Excited About…

Life! I’m so excited about life right now and grateful for mine. The plan is to just live in the present, free of all worries. I’m also excited about my passion project! Lastly, I’m pretty excited about the direction my Instagram has taken, I joined the bookstagram community and it has been amazing. You can follow me there, my handle is @Lipglossmaffia.

 

 

Any New Cravings…

Still craving grilled fish. I haven’t totally satisfied the craving for it. In fact, I’m craving seafood. Like, a lot.

 

 

Movies I Have Seen…

I saw BOSS BABY, it was so amazing and so funny,  loved it. Another funny one was BAYWATCH, I didn’t think I was going to enjoy this. I thought it was going to be corny as hell and it was! But it totally worked, I laughed so much. Also saw the massive WONDER WOMAN, it was an okay movie for me, my best part was the origin bit, the fighting was so beautiful. When Diana left to look for Aris, it just went bleeehhhh. Another lovely movie I saw was, THE MUMMY, wasn’t as scary as the trailer made it look but it was pretty good. A few scare moments here and there. My best movie of the second quarter is KING ARTHUR, it was beautiful around, I can’t even fault it. Saw it three times! It was that good, I dunno why it flopped at the box office though.

 

 

Music That I’m Currently Enjoying…

Jazz. I have been listening to a lot of jazz lately. It’s very relaxing and it doesn’t distract my thinking process or reading.

 

 

What About Fashion Trends…

Hmmm…Fashion. I still like my shift dresses. The weather is  kinda hot but when the rains get heavy, I wear anything with leggings. Anything at all. Lol. There’s nothing trending that I’m crazy about at the moment.

 

 

Favourite Posts Of The Second Quarter…

Untitled design
I never know how to pick favourite posts but I did enjoy working on the #Spotlight series.  I tried a couple of new things this time, did you read about my STREET LIQUOR REVIEW? I also made BANGA SOUP, I think I will be working on a lot of posts that involve me doing something so that I can learn new things. For now, I’m going to let analytics decide which posts rocked in the second quarter.
IF YOU EVER WANT TO TRAVEL TO CONGO…
#THETRIBESPEAKS: ON RELATIONSHIP RED FLAGS…
• #SPOTLIGHT: AN INTERVIEW WITH RISING MEDICAL GENIUS, RACHAEL…
• #LIPGLOSSMAFFIASTYLE: WEDNESDAYS ARE FOR DRESSES…
• #ONTHEHUSTLE: ELHAM AFFAIRS…
• #LIPGLOSSMAFFIAGUIDE TO A HEALTHIER RELATIONSHIP…

 

 

Looking Forward To…

New opportunities and experiences. Reconnecting with my friends, I feel like I have become a hermit of some sort and that’s not really me. Also looking forward to sharing my passion project with you.
 

IMG-20170608-WA0012

 

**********

I hope you found the post interestingLet’s connect more on social media.

Twitter // Facebook // Pinterest // Bloglovin’ // Instagram

 

XOXO

1472431910280111161116 (1)

